Go to Top

Facing Criminal Charges in Virginia? Call Us at

Driving With No License – Spanish Language Information

Operar un vehículo sin una licencia — Información en Español

Have you been charged with operating a vehicle without a license in Virginia?
¿Se le ha acusado de operar un vehículo sin una licencia de conducir válida en Virginia?

• Do you have a valid license from your home country?
¿Tiene una licencia válida de su país de origen?

• Were you at least 16 years and 3 months when you were stopped by police?
¿Estaba usted al menos 16 años y 3 meses de edad cuando fue detenido por la policía?

• Then, it’s possible that you were wrongfully charged with driving without a valid driver’s  license.
Entonces, es posible que usted fuera injustamente acusado de conducir con una licencia de conducir válida.

• In Virginia, the law states that a person with a valid driver’s license issued by his/her country is temporarily exempt from obtaining a driver’s license in Virginia.
En Virginia, la ley establece que una persona con una licencia de conducir válida emitida por su estado o país es temporalmente exentos de la obtención de una licencia de conducir en Virginia.

• The prosecutors must prove a person has been in Virginia longer than 60 days.
Los fiscales deben demostrar que una persona ha estado en Virginia más de 60 días.

• If you are convicted of driving without a valid license, you could spend up to 12 months in jail, and pay a fine of up to $2,500.
Si le declara culpable de conducir sin licencia, podría pasar hasta 12 meses en la cárcel y pagar una multa de hasta $ 2,500.

• All too often we see people plead guilty to this offense when they could have easily beaten the charge.
Con frecuencia, vemos a las personas se declaran culpables de este acusación cuando se podría haber derrotado fácilmente la acusación.

• It is possible to have the charge dismissed or reduced. An attorney, often for free, can advise whether you should challenge the ticket.
Es posible que la acusación despedido o reducido. Un abogado, a menudo de forma gratuita, puede aconsejarle si debe desafiar el billete.

• Don’t plead guilty to driving without a valid license- come speak with one of our experienced attorneys first!
¡No declararse culpable de conducir sin una licencia válida- primero, venga a hablar con uno de nuestros abogados experimentados!

II. Relevant Code & Penalties

• § 46.2-300. Driving without license prohibited; penalties.
No person, except those expressly exempted in §§ 46.2-303 through 46.2-308, shall drive any motor vehicle on any highway in the Commonwealth until such person has applied for a driver’s license, as provided in this article, satisfactorily passed the examination required by § 46.2-325, and obtained a driver’s license, nor unless the license is valid.
§ 46.2-300. Conducir sin licencia prohibido; sanciones.
Ninguna persona, salvo los expresamente exentos en los § § 46.2-303 46.2-308 través, deberá conducir un vehículo motorizado en una carretera en Virginia hasta que esa persona ha solicitado una licencia de conducir, según lo previsto en este artículo, pasado satisfactoriamente el examen requerido por § 46.2-325, y obtuvo una licencia de conducir, ni menos que la licencia es válida.

• § 46.2-308. Temporary exemption for new resident licensed under laws of another state; privately owned vehicle driver’s licenses.
A resident over the age of sixteen years and three months who has been duly licensed as a driver under a law of another state or country requiring the licensing of drivers shall, for the first sixty days of his residency in the Commonwealth, be permitted, without a Virginia license, to drive a motor vehicle on the highways of the Commonwealth.
§ 46.2-308. Exención temporal para los nuevos residentes con licencia bajo las leyes de otro estado, las licencias de conducir de vehículos de propiedad privada.Se considerará, a los primeros sesenta días de su residencia en Virginia, se permitirá a los residentes mayores de dieciséis años y tres meses que ha sido debidamente autorizado como piloto bajo una ley de otro estado o país que exige la licencia de conducir, sin que una licencia de Virginia, para conducir un vehículo de motor en las carreteras de Virginia.

• A violation of this section is a Class 2 misdemeanor, which carries a maximum penalty of 6 months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. A second or subsequent violation of this section is a Class 1 misdemeanor, which carries a penalty of up to 12 months in jail and a fine of up to $2,500.
Una violación de esta sección es un delito menor de Clase 2, que tiene una pena máxima de 6 meses en la cárcel y una multa de hasta $ 1,000. Un segundo o subsiguiente violación de esta sección es un delito menor Clase 1, que tiene una pena de hasta 12 meses en la cárcel y una multa de hasta $ 2,500.

• Upon conviction under this section, the court may suspend a person’s privilege to drive for up to 90 days.
Si es culpable bajo este artículo, el tribunal puede suspender el privilegio de la persona para conducir por hasta 90 días.

• And aside from facing criminal convictions, the DMV will apply points to your record which can make it difficult to obtain a license or keep a license.
Y aparte de enfrentar condenas penales, el DMV le aplicará puntos a su registro, que puede dificultar la obtención de una licencia o mantener una licencia

Potential DMV Points:

  • No Virginia driver’s license- 3 Points (3 years)
  • No driver’s license- vehicle/motorcycle- 3 points (3 years)

Los posible puntos del DMV:

  • No licencia de conducir en Virginia- 3 puntos (3 años)
  • No licencia de conducir- 3 puntos (3 años)

Facing driving with no license charges in Virginia?

If you’ve been charged with driving without a license in Virginia, the experienced criminal defense attorneys at Copenhaver, Ellett & Derrico can help evaluate the details of your case and your options. For an appointment at our Roanoke office, call us at .