After a second DUI conviction, additional (or subsequent) DUI convictions carry even heavier penalties, and they are likely to be prosecuted more severely. Virginia law classifies any third (or subsequent) DUI offense a Class 6 felony. The newest classification also impacts those who has been convicted in the past of involuntary manslaughter DUI or any DUI offense where a person was injured or maimed.
Any third or subsequent DUI convictions carry a mandatory minimum $1,000 fine, mandatory indefinite driver’s license suspension, and is a Class 6 felony in addition to the following:
- Minimum six months in jail and permanent vehicle forfeiture (if you are the sole owner) for a third DUI conviction within five years.
- Minimum 90 days in jail and permanent vehicle forfeiture (if you are the sole owner) for a third DUI conviction within 10 years.
- Minimum 12 months in jail and permanent vehicle forfeiture (if you are the sole owner) for a fourth of subsequent DUI conviction.
If you’ve received a DUI, whether it’s your first one or second, don’t delay calling an experienced Roanoke DUI lawyer from Copenhaver, Ellett and Derrico today.
Call a Roanoke DUI Lawyer Today
If you’ve been charged with a DWI / DUI in Virginia, the experienced Roanoke criminal defense attorneys at Copenhaver, Ellett & Derrico can help evaluate the details of your case and your options. For an appointment, call us at (540) 343-9349.