Possession of methamphetamine even very small amounts of Schedule I and II drugs under the Drug Control Act is considered a Class 5 felony offense. As meth is a Schedule II drug, you face up to 10 years in prison, up to a $2,500 fine, and a mandatory six-month driver’s license suspension. This is in addition to the serious collateral consequences of a felony charge on your criminal record that cannot be expunged.
What Should I Do If I Am Arrested on Meth Charges?
It is tempting to shrug off a first drug offense when the charges seem so small, but that would be a mistake. As you can see, there is no such thing as a minor meth charge in Virginia. The government takes such charges very seriously, no matter how much your actions were influenced by a genuine physical or chemical addiction. That’s why you should call an attorney when facing a drug charge in Virginia to help you devise an effective defense, so you can move on with your life and hopefully get the treatment you need to free yourself from meth’s grasp.
Once you have been accused of any charge related to methamphetamine, no matter how small, it’s important to remain silent and refuse to speak to the police until your attorney is present. Often, these cases are built mostly on the testimony of the accused and invalid searches, so if your lawyer can get the evidence thrown out, the charges may be dropped entirely. Don’t give law enforcement any additional reason to keep you in jail. Let us take care of you.
Facing Methamphetamine Charges in Virginia?
If you have been arrested for small sales or simple possession of methamphetamine in Roanoke, call the experienced Virginia drug lawyers at Copenhaver, Ellett, & Derrico right away at (540) 343-9349 for a free consultation on your case. Find out how we may be able to help you fight these serious accusations.